Vendors have been chuckling when D. and I tell them our wedding date. We’re getting married on Friday, June 13th, 2008. We aren’t morbid or gothic. I tend to wear black because it makes me look thinner, not because I practice witchcraft.

Thirteen is an important number to me. I was born on the 13th (on a Thursday). My grandmother was born on a 13th. D.’s sister and his mother were both born on the 13th. Friday the 13th has never been an unlucky day for any of us. Actually, thirteens have been lucky for us. Inspired by the date of our wedding, we are going to give out traditional lucky charms: lucky rabbit’s feet, horseshoes, pennies, etc., as favors. Instead of having our guests throw rice or birdseed at the end of the wedding, they’re going to throw Lucky Charms cereal at us.

There are some benefits to having your wedding on Friday the 13th.
1. D. will be less likely to forget our anniversary.
2. It’s not a popular day to get married for traditional brides. This is good for my price and service negotiations with vendors.

