D. and I have talked a lot about the “soundtrack” of our wedding. Music is very important to us. I feel like I used up most of my instrumental favorites at my first wedding. I had my maid of honor walk in to “Winter” by Vivaldi. I proceeded into my wedding to “Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming”, and the recessional was “Break Forth O Beauteous Heavenly Light” performed by a string quartet.
This time around, I’m stumped for a processional. D. and I have pretty much decided on the PM’s Love Theme from the movie Love Actually. I considered the Glasgow Love Theme from Love Actually for the processional, but it is a bit short and a touch wistful and melancholy. I think I’ll figure out what the processional will be once we’ve settled on a location.
D. and I also discussed what music is verboten at the wedding. We both agreed no Chicken Dance or Hokey Pokey, but I wanted to hear the Electric Slide, and he was not for it. We agreed to a compromise though. Instead of the Electric Slide, he’ll allow You’ve Dropped a Bomb On Me by the Gap Band, and if I can find someone to mix it, a mashup of traditional Jewish hora songs which will lead into Chori Chori Gori Se from The Guru. I would love to choreograph a dance with my bridemaids to Chori Chori Gori Se. Why? Because we’re weirdos. That’s why.

You can’t have a happy ending without a choreographed dance.
Happy Ending

Other couples who’ve opted for choreographed dances at their receptions:

Wedding Thriller Dance (YouTube Video)

I Had the Time of My Life/Dirty Dancing Dance (YouTube Video)

