I had trouble sleeping last night, and around four o’clock this morning, my mind started drifting off on to weird topics, like testing deodorants for the wedding. I don’t normally have a problem with excessive perspiration or body odor, but I want to be prepared. (I realize it’s a bit neurotic, but hey, you readers will benefit from my deodorant/anti-perspirant trials.)

Currently, I alternate between Degree Ultra Clear Pure Satin for Women and Secret’s Shower Fresh Invisible Solid 80’s Power. I used to religiously wear Secret’s Ambition scented deodorant/anti-perspirant, but it has been discontinued. 😦 Secret recently introduced some new “scent expressions” like Vanilla Chai, Arctic Apple, and Pothead Patchouli. (Ok, maybe not the last one.) I don’t want my pits to smell like fruit. I want to smell clean.
I prefer the Degree Ultra Clear over the Secret Invisible Solid because, like the commercial advertises, it seems to respond to my body and the deodorant lasts all day. However, I’ve noticed more underarm dampness with the Degree Ultra Clear than the Secret Invisible Solid. I’ve done a comparison and some research, and now I know why. Both Secret and Degree have Aluminum Zirconium Trichlorohydrex Gly as their active ingredient. Secret has 19% while Degree has 14.8%. Just for frame of reference, Ban Intensely Fresh Invisible Solid has 19% Aluminum Zirconium Trichlorohydrex, and CertainDri, “the doctor-recommended, non-perscription anti-perspirant” contains 12% of Aluminum Chloride. Supposedly, the Mitchum anti-perspirants contain 20% Aluminum Zirconium Trichlorohydrex Gly, but I can’t confirm that on the Mitchum website, and I’m not going to the drug store at 6:37 am to find out. Sorry.
Secret has just released a new product called Clinical Strength. It also contains 20% Aluminum Zirconium Trichlorohydrex Gly. I signed up for a free sample, so in six to eight weeks, I’ll post an update.
Before I get flooded with emails and comments regarding Aluminum compounds causing breast cancer, I’ve read articles regarding the studies. In my opinion, the results are conflicting and inconclusive. I can use the hippie crystal deodorant on non-critical days. I just want to be fresh and dry on my wedding day.

