Since D. and I have been seriously considering the surprise wedding concept, I’ve been thinking about how moving the wedding date will affect the “wedding schedule.” DUN-DUN-DUNNNNNN! The big thing moving the date will affect is ordering the dress. I haven’t tried any dresses on yet because I was hoping I would lose weight before the wedding. Ideally, I’d like to lose 30 lbs for the wedding… not just to look good, but to feel healthier as well. I don’t think it’s realistic that I will lose 30 lbs before I need to order the dress for the surprise wedding. It was a realistic goal with the original date. So now, I have my target goal set at 20 lbs, and I’m considering using Alli to assist in the weight loss. For those of you who haven’t heard about Alli, the FDA approved a lower dosage version of Xenical for over the counter use. It also goes by the name Orlistat. According to Wikipedia, the drug’s “primary function is preventing the absorption of fats from the human diet, thereby reducing caloric intake.” So, with a reduced-calorie diet, it can at least jump start weight loss. Sometimes all you need is to see the needle on the scale move down to keep you motivated to continue to diet and exercise.
There’s a major side effect though. If you continue to eat a high fat diet, you will have urgent, loose, and oily poops. And increased flatulence. What does that mean? Don’t eat crap food, or you very well may crap yourself in a business meeting or while stuck in traffic. Crap in, crap out. Also, the drug affects the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins and nutrients. “A multivitamin tablet containing vitamins A, D, E, K, and beta-carotene should be taken once a day, at least 2 hours before or after taking the drug.”
I’m going to give it a go, and I’ll keep you all apprised.

