I think save the date cards are a bit silly. I’ve read postings in wedding communities from women freaking out over the details of their save the date notifications. (Don’t get me started on their use of the acronym STD for save the date. It threw me the first time I saw it on a forum. ) The only reason I’m considering sending out save the dates is that my family needs multiple reminders that I’m getting married. Some will forget, some will lose track of time, and others will inevitably schedule a vacation or business trip for that weekend if I don’t remind them.
We’re also planning on sending our invitations out early. None of my family members live locally. I think my mother may be the closest to me at around 470 miles away. Three months notice isn’t enough time for people to schedule time off of work, save money for travel, and book their flights and lodging. So, the tentative schedule is September for save the dates and February for invitations.

Below are a few save the date and invitation designs that we like so far.

Ticket to Love
Ticket to Love save the date cards from the Something Different invitation line of Carslon Craft

At Our Wedding
At Our Wedding save the date cards from the Something Different invitation line of Carslon Craft

Shimmering Sentiment
Shimmering Sentiment invitations from the Something Different invitation line of Carslon Craft

Different is Good!
Different is Good! invitations from the Something Different invitation line of Carslon Craft

Napkin Invitation
Napkin Invitation from the Something Different invitation line of Carslon Craft

We really like the concept of the napkin invitation, but I think it would be more appropriate if we were having a cocktail party reception rather than a summer BBQ reception. We are toying around with the idea of cocktail napkins for save the dates. We would probably go through a specialty napkin vendor if we decided to do that. However, I have a feeling that their minimum order would be around 100 pieces, and we don’t need that many.

As you can tell, we really like the Something Different line of invitations. We viewed the whole book at The Dandelion Patch in Vienna. When we asked to view books of non-traditional invitations, the saleswoman didn’t seem too pleased about our request. We don’t need letterpress linen invitations from Crane with the vellum and the lined double envelopes. Those invitations are not us.
If we weren’t limited by our budget, I would love, *love* a custom invitation that had a unique cajun feel, but how do you describe that to a designer?
“We’d like an invitation that was sentimental and cajun influenced… a touch of Marie Lavaux, but not gothic… a little bit country and a little bit rock and roll.”

