Tomorrow, D. and I are going to our first tasting at Amphora Catering. Not only will we be tasting our potential reception dinner, we will also be tasting cake as well. I’m really excited! (D. believes that I’m more excited about the cake tasting than I am about the rest of the meal.) The wedding ball is starting to roll.

The proposed menu Jade at Amphora put together for us consists of:

Cocktails Hour:
Fruit and Cheese Platters

Entrees:
Char Grilled Spanish Style Skewers featuring marinated and grilled chicken, turkey sausage, and shrimp
OR
Pineapple Chicken Skewers (At the tasting, we’ll figure out which one we’re going to go with.)
AND
Herb Marinated Flank Steak

Sides:
Roasted Seasonal Vegetables
Wild Rice & Currant Salad
Bow Tie Pasta Salad with asparagus, fresh mozzarella and basil
Assorted Country Dinner Rolls

We won’t be tasting the fruit and cheese platter, but we will be trying everything else (and taking pictures along the way). I’m a little bit nervous about the cake. I’m a serious cake snob. For my birthday cake last year, we scouted out and tasted cake at 3 different bakeries before I found the right cake. It’s not about appearance; I’m all about the taste and texture. I’m also not a real big fan of fondant. I promise to report back with all of our findings.

