Today, I decided to go dress shopping. I went to Trudy’s Brides and Special Occasions right down the street. I called ahead for an appointment, and when I arrived, it was a flurry with brides. It was overwhelming at first. My consultant was Lauren; she was nice, but she didn’t have her finger on my dress pulse. I wanted dresses that were flattering and not heavily beaded on the bodice. (Busty women don’t need beads on the breasts.) Out of the dresses from Lauren’s selection, this dress was leading the pack.

dress1front.jpg
I liked the ruching and the waist definition, but it screamed “Attack of the Grecian Boob-Queen”.

I was shuffled to the special occasions section and handed off to Jeanette. She pulled a bunch of bridemaids dresses that would work as less formal wedding dresses. All of the bridesmaid dresses could be ordered in ivory and white shades.

dress2front.jpg
The pick-up skirt was nice, but it seemed too much like a prom dress, and it gave me a uni-boob.

dress3front.jpg
Yes, I know this dress doesn’t fit right. The only sample they had was several sizes too small. I still tried it on to get an idea of how it could look. It was closer to what I wanted, with the pick up skirt, but it just didn’t feel like *the* dress.

I did try on the black and white Watters and Watters dress that I posted about previously, but it was also several sizes too small, and ultimately wasn’t substantial enough.

Jeanette was a real trooper. She pulled some really pretty dresses from the bridal section, and she doesn’t usually work bridal. The store owner, Trudy, came by and moved us into the bridal section. (and thank God, it was freakin’ hot on the bridemaid’s side of the store.) Jeanette pulled another set of bride’s dresses, and in that set was *the* dress. It’s a 2Be Bride dress, 100% silk, in Natural color. It was more than I originally budgeted, and I know I could have tried to find it for less online, but it’s easier to just buy it at a shop nearby. Let’s hope everything goes okay once it arrives. *crosses fingers* On Wednesday, I’ll know the delivery date, and then I can schedule the alterations.

(No, I’m not going to post a picture of the dress until after the wedding.)

Hooray! I found my dress after only 2.5 hours of trying on dresses.

