I had a makeup trial at my local MAC store scheduled for Monday, but I missed the appointment. (I’ve been crazy busy lately.) I originally wanted to have a makeup artist do up my face on the day of the wedding, but my friend Allez said that I should I do my own makeup since I am capable of makeup awesomeness (which is true). What she doesn’t know is to achieve makeup awesomeness, I need at least an hour and a half to execute. I think I’ll have enough time to pull it off, but I can’t have any dramatic distractions. I may banish my family to the downstairs while Allez and I do makeup with the aid of nerve-numbing Scotch upstairs. We’ll see. (D. says makeup and scotch is a bad combination. He does have a point.)

I went to Sephora today to talk with my favorite salesperson/makeup artist, Gary. He worked with me last December to come up with a twist on a 1940s retro glam look which was awesome. I monopolized his time, and we came up with a bronzey-brown eye, plum cheeks, and a light coral gloss lip. It doesn’t sound like that would go together, but it does. We were able to incorporate products I already own, which is great because I know how they look, and I saved money too.

To start, he said to use eye cream and moisturizer. I already had the Fresh Lotus Eye Gel and Boscia’s Oil-Free Daily Hydration lotion. Then apply the foundation. We picked out the Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet+ Matifying Foundation in shade No. 40 – Natural Beige. For eyes, Lorac Starry-Eyed Baked Eye Shadow Trio – in Superstar (golden beige/golden tan/deep bronze) for the lid, crease, and brow highlight, and Stila Smudge Pot gel eye liner in Bronze to line the upper lid. Gary lined my lower lid with a deep matte brown shadow from the Stila Smoky Eye Palette, but I didn’t want to buy the whole palette just for one shadow. Plus, I have the Espresso eye shadow, which according to MAC, is a “muted golden brown” matte shadow. I also picked up a tube of the Diorshow Waterproof Mascara in black and an angle eye liner brush. We paired this bronzey eye with the Lorac Plum Eye Shadow and the Lorac Tropical Dream Mocktail Lip Gloss (sheer peach champagne). You wouldn’t think the plum blush would work with my eye and lip color, but it does. I have the Lorac Mocktail limited edition sampler, so I can play with a few other colors to make sure there isn’t something better. Gary suggested I also pick up the Urban Decay De-Slick Mattifying Powder compact. I have to say, the De-Slick powder is very impressive. I feel pretty confident that I’ll be able reproduce the look for the wedding. If I can’t, well, I’m not going to think about that right now.

No, I’m not going to post pictures from today. I’ll keep the look a surprise until the big day.

