D. and I love staying in and cooking for each other just as much as we enjoy going out. In our old apartment in Campbell, I felt cooped up, so I always had this need to be out. It sucked because we had this big kitchen with brand new appliances just begging to be used.

You see? Super nice, with a pot rack and everything. Unfortunately, the old apartment had this dark cave-like feel that was depressing. Our new apartment has a very open floor plan with lots of light, but an extremely tiny kitchen with boring standard appliances.

Anyway, tonight we decided to stay in and have a tribute to our honeymoon. (I still need to post about the honeymoon, I know.) We’re going to eat cake, drink wine, and watch Superbad like we did on our honeymoon. In addition, I’m making my version of a dish I had in Prague many years ago, chicken with camembert and pears. I stuff the chicken with camembert, pan cook it, toss the pears in some cinnamon, throw the pears in the pan with the left over camembert when the chicken is almost done, and enjoy. It’s terribly decadent, super easy, and is a nice dish to enjoy with a glass of wine and the windows open to the crisp autumnal air.

Cooking at home is awesome. It’s fun to experiment with flavors and techniques. (It also doesn’t hurt that we live within walking distance to a Whole Foods.) This is why I strongly urge couples to register for kitchen gear. You won’t use your fancy candlesticks or fine china as much as you will a good chef’s knife. If you want to see what we put on our Amazon registry, you can check it out here. Heck, if you’re really feeling generous, we’re still accepting gifts. 😉

